TO BE READ

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
Ragtime by E.L. Doctorow

FULL LIST

SUGGESTIONS?

Send me a message, and I'll add it to my list!

MUSIC

up, up and away / iliyon

Any association with the Mockingjay symbol is forbidden.

(Source: frostingpeetaswounds)

01/08/2014
via · src · reblog
723 notes
thg  queue are my sunshine  

ronanczernys:

books meme ➝ [11/20] series or books

i am the messenger by markus zusak
01/08/2014
via · src · reblog
29 notes
i am the messenger  queue are my sunshine  

infinitemachine:

Character of the Day: Sparrowhawk by FreShPAiNt

01/08/2014
via · src · reblog
90 notes
earthsea cycle  ged  fanart  queue are my sunshine  
01/08/2014
via · src · reblog
8,310 notes
hp  queue are my sunshine  

mf-islands:

Lunar Chronicles Character Details

inkyopinions:

Character heights:
  • Cinder: 5’8” / 173cm
  • Kai: 5’11” / 180cm
  • Scarlet: 5’6” / 168cm
  • Wolf: 6’4” / 193cm
  • Cress: 5’1” / 155cm
  • Thorne: 6’0” / 183cm
  • Winter: 5’9” / 175cm
  • Jacin: 6’2” / 188cm
Birth dates:
  • Cinder: December 21, 109 T.E. (Sagittarius)
  • Kai: 7 April 108 T.E….

Unless Dr. Erland’s DNA test is incorrect, Cress’s height should be no more than 153.48cm (Cress, Ch 37). It’s a small difference, but she should not be 155cm. Indeed, 5’1” is is equivalent to 154.94cm; however, 153.48cm is only 5’ 2/5”. There is a rounding error.

Marissa Meyer gave Cress’s height as 5’1” on the bio she posted on her blog; the metric conversions were made by shirewalker.  Most likely the guide was written before Cress and just wasn’t changed to comply with the new information.

01/08/2014
via · src · reblog
176 notes
tlc  

nikolai plucked an invisible piece of dust from his sleeve. “yes,” he said. “they just do it in better clothes.”

(Source: mabelrose)

01/08/2014
via · src · reblog
252 notes
grisha trilogy  nikolai lantsov  queue are my sunshine  
+162,569

theywerebirds:

Nanna Bryndís Himarsdóttir (vocals) and Brynjar Liefsson (guitar) cover MGMT’s Kids

01/08/2014
via · src · reblog
25,488 notes
music  of monsters and men  mgmt  kids  queue are my sunshine  

angelheadedhunter:

"Cuz as me the almost-man looks up into that town, I can hear the 146 men who remain. I can hear every ruddy last one of them. Their Noise washes down the hill like a flood let loose right at me, like a fire, like a monster the size of the sky cuz there’s nowhere to run." -The Knife of Never Letting Go

01/08/2014
via · src · reblog
347 notes
chaos walking  queue are my sunshine  

Marissa Meyer just retweeted this and guess where it links

quietly freaking out because myroza makes beautiful graphics and also julia garner as cress

Book review: A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin

I’ve heard nothing but praise for Ursula K. Le Guin’s Earthsea Cycle, so I went into the first book with high expectations.  Unfortunately, it failed to leave a lasting impression on me.  A Wizard of Earthsea is a solid fantasy bildungsroman with fantastic themes and a clearly drawn world, but it’s also too familiar to stand out from the rest of its genre.

A Wizard of Earthsea tells of a proud, reckless boy who unleashes a shadow on the world.  After sustaining terrible injuries, Ged must master his powers and put an end to the evil he has wrought.  The story is powerful, but it’s been done hundreds of times before, and this one adds little new to my experience with epic fantasy.  It’s more grounded than the usual fare, more quiet, more somber, but introspective asides don’t make up for the dry action or the blandness of the characters.

For a good part of the book, I hoped that it would abandon Ged altogether and launch into a deeper exploration of the world, which seemed much richer than his string of unconnected tasks and the many pages spent sailing between them.  If there’s one thing I loved about this book, it’s the glimpses it gave of Earthsea’s many diverse cultures.  But my hopes went unmet, and Ged sailed on.  The plot picked up at the end, and I felt mildly impressed by the resolution, but the meandering quests that led up to it kept me from fully appreciating its value.

Ultimately, A Wizard of Earthsea is a perfectly serviceable book that could have been much more.  It could have pushed the envelope, delved deep into the world, showed Ged’s growth rather than simply recounting it.  If I had read it a few years ago, I might have fallen in love, but now this story feels safer than it should have been.

Rating: 


1

2

3

4

5

6

7